World Heritage areas are the most exceptional and unique places on Earth.

In 1972, worldwide concern over the destruction of the Earth’s cultural and natural heritage led to the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) establishing the World Heritage Convention to identify, celebrate and protect the Earth’s irreplaceable natural and cultural heritage, and to ensure it is conserved for all people for all time.

World Heritage status is awarded by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee to sites that are deemed to possess ‘Outstanding Universal Value’ - cultural and/or natural significance so exceptional that it transcends national boundaries and is of common importance for present and future generations of all humanity.

The Australian Government has primary responsibility for the implementation of the World Heritage Convention and development of national policy on World Heritage matters. Both State and Commonwealth legislation protect the World Heritage values and prohibit actions that have, or are likely to have, a significant impact on the World Heritage values of a declared property.

DBCA is responsible for the implementation of policy and the day to day management for three of the four World Heritage areas in Western Australia:

Murujuga World Heritage nomination

Murujuga, the traditional Aboriginal name for the Dampier Archipelago and surrounds, is being nominated for inscription on the World Heritage List to have its unique cultural, spiritual and archaeological values internationally recognised at the highest level.

The Western Australian Government is working in partnership with the Murujuga Aboriginal Corporate and stakeholders to progress the Murujuga World Heritage nomination.

More information on World Heritage

  • Cathedral Gorge Purnululu Sean Scott
    Cathedral Gorge in Purnululu National Park
    Photo: © Sean Scott Photography
  • staghorn
    The vibrant underwater scenery of the Ningaloo Coast
    Photo: © Migration Media
  • aerial view
    Aerial view of the magnificent diversity
    found at Shark Bay
    Photo: © DBCA

Explore our world heritage areas

Articles in this category:

Title Modified Date
Murujuga World Heritage nomination Thursday, 30 May 2019 11:01
Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Area Friday, 30 August 2019 12:05
Purnululu National Park World Heritage Area Friday, 22 February 2019 18:22
Shark Bay World Heritage Area Friday, 22 February 2019 18:23
World Heritage advisory committees Friday, 30 August 2019 12:04