Pilbara inshore islands

The Pilbara inshore islands nature reserves and proposed additions draft management plan 2020 has been released for public comment.

A draft management plan has been prepared for 174 small islands, islets and rocks, comprising over 13,000 hectares, between Exmouth Gulf and Cape Preston (‘the Pilbara inshore islands’). 

Of the islands, 97 fall within 20 existing nature reserves, and 77 are unallocated Crown land (UCL) islands that are proposed to become nature reserve. The islands are located across three local government areas and include three islands within the Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Area. The islands support a variety of threatened species and provide refuge for small mammals as well as a translocated population of the Barrow Island golden bandicoot. With over 500km of coastline, there are significant sites for marine turtle nesting, mangroves and patches of remnant vegetation communities. Much of the planning area is intertidal (approximately 53,000 hectares) and provides important habitat for resident and migratory seabirds and shorebirds. 

Developed in accordance with the Conservation and Land Management Act 1984, the plan provides guidance for how the natural, cultural and social values of the islands will be protected and conserved over the next 10 years and into the future.

The draft management plan is open for public comment.
Pilbara inshore islands plan cover

Management plan information and submissions

After you have downloaded and reviewed the draft plan, please use the online submission form to have your say on how the Pilbara inshore islands will be managed.

While we encourage the use of the online submission form, written submissions may be sent to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. or via post to:

Pilbara Islands Project Officer
Parks and Wildlife Service
Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions
PO Box 201

The public comment period is open from 18 September to 18 November 2020.