Walkers in Purnululu National Park
Walkers in Purnululu National Park
Photo © Colin Ingram

Western Australia’s conservation lands and waters (including national parks, marine parks, nature reserves and State forests) extend over more than 28 million hectares (an area bigger than Victoria) and encompass stunning coastlines, expansive coral reefs, sweeping ranges, magnificent gorges and stately forests.

Our parks also protect social, cultural and spiritual values and provide opportunities for Indigenous Western Australians to connect with country and their identity as the original custodians of this land.

Western Australia has 100 national parks and 13 marine parks, representing the best of the west, and many of these areas are nationally and internationally significant. Shark Bay, Purnululu and the Ningaloo Coast are World Heritage Properties – a status shared by East Africa’s Serengeti, the Pyramids of Egypt and the Great Barrier Reef.

Our parks underpin a valuable and expanding nature based tourism industry but above all are there for you to visit and enjoy.

Visit parks.dpaw.wa.gov.au to rediscover Western Australian parks.


Articles in this category:

Title Modified Date
Alerts and updates Monday, 09 April 2018 14:02