The Western Australian Threatened Species Scientific Committee is appointed by the Minister for Environment, with administrative support provided by Parks and Wildlife.

The role of the committee is to:

  • review and make recommendations annually to the Minister, via the Director General of the Department of Parks and Wildlife and the Conservation and Parks Commission, on threatened species and subspecies (plants and animals);
  • allocate the threatened taxa to IUCN categories of threat annually, for endorsement by the Minister; and
  • provide advice and recommendations to the Director General in respect of research and management needs arising from the reviews of taxonomic lists and threat categories.

The committee meets annually to consider any nominations received since the previous meeting.

Contact details

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Mailing address:
Threatened Species Scientific Committee
Species and Communities Branch
Department of Parks and Wildlife
Locked Bag 104
Bentley Delivery Centre WA 6983

Membership List for 2016-2018

Dr Andrew Burbidge

Members (Alphabetical order)

Member General area of expertise

Dr Ken Atkins

Vascular flora (especially threatened flora)

Dr Allan Burbidge

Avian fauna ecology, conservation and biogeography

Dr Andrew Burbidge

Threatened species (especially vertebrate animals)

Dr Kingsley Dixon

Flora ecology, genetics and conservation management

Dr Mark Harvey

Terrestrial invertebrates (especially arachnids)

Dr Nicola Mitchell

Frogs and reptiles

Dr Melinda Moir

Terrestrial invertebrates (especially insects)

Dr Anthony Start

Flora and fauna survey, research and conservation

Dr Tim Storer

Freshwater fauna and ecology

Dr Colin Yates

Flora conservation, threatening processes and threatened species modelling