The Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Advisory Committee (NCWHAC) was established in 2013 by agreement between the Commonwealth and Western Australia governments.  

Members of the committee are appointed in their own right and not as representatives of particular organisations. They are appointed by the State Government Minister for the Environment following endorsement by State Cabinet. The Commonwealth Minister for the Environment validates the recommended appointee to the position of Chairperson.

Committee members have knowledge and/or background in areas such as tourism, local government, indigenous matters, park management and/or qualifications relevant to the protection and conservation of the World Heritage area.

  • provide advice to the Commonwealth and State Environment Ministers on the protection, conservation and management of the values of the World Heritage area
  • develop and provide input into initiatives and opportunities for the promotion and presentation of the World Heritage area values to the local, national and international communities
  • contribute to enhancing the stewardship and connection of the community to the World Heritage area
  • nominate members from the NCWHAC to represent the Committee on the Australian World Heritage Advisory Committee and the Australian World Heritage Indigenous Network.

Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Advisory Committee members:

Committee members
MembersStakeholder Affiliation
Mr Simon Woodley (Chairperson) Scientific research (Marine)
Cr Karl Brandenburg Shire of Carnarvon
Mr Anthony Dowling Local community interests
Mr Anthony Evans Broader community interests
Ms Jacqueline Hine Conservation interests
Professor William Humphreys Scientific research (Terrestrial)
Ms Leonie McLeod Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mr Frazer McGregor Tourism interests
Mrs D. Ann Preest Local Indigenous group, Exmouth
Ms Hazel Walgar Local Indigenous group, Carnarvon
Vacant Shire of Exmouth

Advisory Committee Meeting Communiqué’s

Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Advisory Committee Meeting 7 Communiqué(currently unavailable)

Further information

For more information on the Ningaloo Coast World Heritage area please visit:

Contact details

Ningaloo Coast World Heritage Advisory Committee
The Chairperson
c/- Department of Parks and Wildlife, Exmouth Office
PO Box 201, Exmouth, Western Australia 6070

Phone: (08) 9947 8023

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.