Roadside Conservation Committee logo
Roadside Conservation Committee

To coordinate and promote the conservation and effective management of rail and roadside vegetation for the benefit of the environment and the people of Western Australia.

The original Road Verge Conservation Committee, which operated between 1968 and 1983, was formed in response to community recognition of the importance of roadside vegetation, and became the Roadside Conservation Committee in 1985.

The Roadside Conservation Committee is comprised of members representing relevant agencies and the community. The Committee reports to the Minister for Environment (who appoints its members), and is chaired by a nominee from Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions (DBCA). Funding for a full-time executive officer is provided by DBCA and Main Roads Western Australia. The Roadside Conservation Committee executive is hosted by DBCA.

Its principal activities are to:

  • Publish material providing advice and guidance relevant to the management of roadside vegetation
  • Provide specific advice to road managers and the public
  • Coordinate relevant training for road managers and their staff
  • Coordinate inter-agency actions
  • Coordinate the Flora Road program
  • Produce maps of roadside vegetation conservation values.
Members (October 2018)
  • Dr Ken Atkins (Chair), Manager, Species and Communities Branch, Department of Biodiversity, Conservation and Attractions
  • Mr John Morrell, Environmental Specialist, Arc Infrastructure
  • Mr Jeff Anderton, Conservation Council WA
  • Mr Rodney Safstrom, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development
  • Mr Adrian Wiley, Acting/Senior Manager, Clearing Regulation, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation
  • Ms Rachael Parkes, Environmental Officer, Fire and Emergency Services
  • Ms Martine Scheltema, Manager, Environment, Main Roads WA
  • Ms Nicole Matthews, Environment Policy Manager, WA Local Goverment Association
  • Cr Mike Norman, Councillor, City of Joondalup
  • Cr Glenice Batchelor, Councillor, Shire of Tammin
  • Ms Christine Jung, Environmental and Vegetation Management, Western Power Corporation
  • Mr Doug Hall, Wildflower Society of Western Australia
  • Mr Matt Bowdler, Senior Environmental Adviser, ATCO Gas Australia


  • Mr Nick Casson, Executive Officer